My search for a pre-WWII civilian/boy scout knife

Ask knife related questions here. Please answer some if you are an experienced collector!
PvtRossi

My search for a pre-WWII civilian/boy scout knife

Post by PvtRossi » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:50 am

Hello all,

My search for a civilian or boy scout pocket knife (preferably with can opener and lanyard ring) dating to the 1920s or 1930s that I could use for a 1941-1944 US army soldier impression continues. Some have already helped me out in understanding that for soldiers in non-specialized roles (i.e. paratroopers, engineers, signal corps etc.) there was no military issue knife at least until 1944 with the Knife, Pocket, General Purpose (which probably didn't actually reach the lines well into 1945). So a civilian or a boy scout knife coming from home would be more historically accurate.
I am no expert on the subject (and actually very ignorant) so I please bear with me. I appreciate if you could give me some guidance in telling if a knife is pre-WWII manufacture or post-war.

I've found this anonymous-looking Ulster knife that fits my budget and needs for sale. Can anybody tell me if it looks like pre-WWII manufacture or if it's a postwar knife?
s-l1600.jpg
s-l1600s.jpg

eveled
Bronze Tier
Bronze Tier

Re: My search for a pre-WWII civilian/boy scout knife

Post by eveled » Fri Sep 27, 2019 7:43 am

IMHO, and it could be wrong. Look for funky can openers. The hook shaped can opener on the knife you show I think first appeared in ww2. Then everyone (except SAK) used it going forward. The older scout knives had various other types. Usually 2 piece can openers.

Also the ww2 knives that had the hook can opener would have had a longer bottle opener/ screw driver.

The one you show looks like 1970’s and up to me.

ScoutKnives

Post by ScoutKnives » Fri Sep 27, 2019 10:24 am

Here are a few Ulster examples that would fit your criteria , all pre WWII .

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R ... any+dwight