Camco Camp Knife

This forum is for those who like to repair and restore knives, and for those who would like to learn.
Jerlin

Camco Camp Knife

Post by Jerlin » Fri May 22, 2020 11:36 pm

I have had this Camco Camp Knife since I was a boy in the Boy Scouts in the early 1950's. It has been in my tool box forever. I took it out the other day and noticed it had some rust on it and the plastic handle material had cracked and shrunk. Otherwise the knife is in pretty good shape. I have attached some photos of the knife.

I decided to clean the knife up and see about replacing the handles. Since I have no experience working on knives, I started doing some on-line research. That is where I came across AAPK. I joined today and have been doing quite a bit of research in the tutorials and Knife Repair and Restoration Forum. I have found a lot of good information, but now I am at a point where I could use some help.

After cleaning up the knife, I removed the handles by prying them off. Two end pins stuck in the handles and two stuck in the liners (one on either side). Also, I pryed the handles off the center pin, so it remained in the knife. However, the center pin is bent on both ends towards the bale end of the knife.
The original handles have a radius surface on the top side.

I found some radius brown jigged bone handle material on the internet. I believe they will work on my knife. However, I have some questions about replacing the handles.