Help from a Pro Please!

A place to ask or answer knife related questions.
Khopesh

Help from a Pro Please!

Post by Khopesh »

Could one (or more) of the Professionals here PLEASE tell me, if possible, what it is I have here. I am an amateur collector, although I’ve been collecting knives for 38 years. I cannot dredge up info on this knife anywhere. Some come close, but the blade length, etc. are never the same as mine.

There are no visible Maker’s marks/Manufacturer, and no badge to identify it. The only stamping on it is “MADE IN ITALY”.
When open, the total length is 5 and 3/16 inches. The blade from housing to tip is 2 and 1/8+ inches. The handle is dark bone(?), not plastic, I can see the striations in the bone. The blade is contoured, not scalloped.
Oh! It’s a folding, (pin lock?), knife. The pin is round, and not square like the newer, cheap versions, ie. Kissing Crane, etc.
Hopefully I’ve given enough details, and took detailed pics to give ya’ll enough to go with making a determination.
I’m new here, looking forward to future discussions.
Attachments
Miniature
Miniature
Miniature 2
Miniature 2
Miniature 3
Miniature 3
Miniature 4
Miniature 4
Miniature 6
Miniature 6
Miniature 7
Miniature 7
Miniature 8
Miniature 8
Miniature 5
Miniature 5
Miniature 9
Miniature 9
knife-nut

Re: Help from a Pro Please!

Post by knife-nut »

The handle looks like horn to me. The little holes are from a bug that eats holes in horn handles.
TwoFlowersLuggage
Location: Stuck in traffic on a highway in Southern California

Post by TwoFlowersLuggage »

In my limited experience, stilettos that are stamped "Made in Italy" have often never been anywhere near Italy, or even Europe.
"The Luggage had a straightforward way of dealing with things between it and its intended destination: it ignored them." -Terry Pratchett
Khopesh

Post by Khopesh »