Kershaw Service and dependability!

Kershaw began its foray into the knife business sometime during 1974. The company was originally based in Portland Oregon, but most early knives were manufactured in Japan. The first US manufacturing plant was opened in 1997 & the company currently offers knives made in the U.S., Japan, & China. Pete Kershaw (an ex Gerber salesman) started the business.
cordell

Kershaw Service and dependability!

Post by cordell »

Hello all, I have been carrying a Kershaw Ken Onion 1550 for many years and if I have casual or work clothes on it is in my pocket. A little history about my purchase...... We ran a cattle farm for about 25 years and as some of you know, what can go wrong will go wrong on a farm. I carried an old Ulster redbone large congress in those days and loved it. One day I had caught up a cow in the head gate that had baling twine wrapped around her leg just above the hoof. I managed to get the leg out through the shute boards but realized that I couldn't open my knife with one hand!......

I immediately went in search for a switch blade of some sort and ended up with the Kershaw. I have used this knife for everything from a crow bar to a paint scraper and it has served me well. To give you an idea of how much I use this knife I have worn out 3 springs (2 Kershaw customer service sent me) and then for the 3rd had to send it to Kershaw because of another issue. To give you an idea of how much I trust in the Kershaw I went out and bought another just to tide me over until mine returned. I think the web site said 1000 days (more or less :wink: ) on turn around time but I had it back in 3 weeks. They had replaced everything except the handle and the pocket clip...............including the blade! Now that's service!!!!!!