Sharpening them

This forum is for the straight razor collectors among us. Please stop by and share your knowledge, show off your razors, ask questions, or just look around.
OSCAR

Sharpening them

Post by OSCAR »

I collect knives but I shave with straight razors. I have 3 razors by Dovo which were fairly expensive. They need professional sharpening as it is not in my skill set to sharpen a razor although I can put a terrific edge on a knife. The online store I bought them from offers the service but at $75 each. Does anyone know of a service that does great work at a lesser price ? I have about $700 invested in them and I don’t want them ruined. Thanks in advance for any advice.
"The Edge...There is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over.
Eye Brand Man

Re: Sharpening them

Post by Eye Brand Man »

I'm not an expert on straight razors, but it seems unless they are extremely dull or the edges are damaged, a few licks on a leather strop with some compound should bring them back to shaving.
Eye Brand Collector
OSCAR

Post by OSCAR »

Thanks for replying. I’m no expert either. I strip before every use but I’ve not tried any compound on the leather. I’ll order some and give it a try. $75 seems like a lot to professionally sharpen one blade.
Thanks for the idea. I think that it should make a big difference at a low price. Thanks again
"The Edge...There is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over.
OSCAR

Post by OSCAR »

Thanks for replying. I’m no expert either. I strop before every use but I’ve not tried any compound on the leather. I’ll order some and give it a try. $75 seems like a lot to professionally sharpen one blade.
Thanks for the idea. I think that it should make a big difference at a low price. Thanks again
mrwatch

Post by mrwatch »