Remington's Cutlery Advertising and Marketing Strategies

The Remington Corporation and the knives that they built have influenced the U.S. cutlery industry more than nearly any other manufacturer. From the time America was settled, to the end of WWI, American knife companies struggled to compete with Britain and German imports, but events that occurred during and after the First World War led to a great change in this phenomenon. Unprecedented opportunities arose, and Remington stepped up to seize the moment. In the process, they created some of today's most prized collectables. In an ironic twist, the next World War played the greatest role in ending the company’s domination of the industry.
AREMINGTONSEDGE

Remington's Cutlery Advertising and Marketing Strategies

Post by AREMINGTONSEDGE »

Below is an article that I've recently written and offer it for reading interest and fun. It's my first attempt at such things and comments are welcomed. The pictures that I had formatted into the article would not download as the original so I have added them at the end to show each advertising method Remington offered. ::tu::

Remington’s
Cutlery Advertising and Marketing Strategies

L. B. Wilson

Historically much has been written and or discussed regarding Remington’s advertising and marketing strategies in relation to their rise to prominence as the premier cutlery giant of our Nation from 1920 to 1940. I will attempt not to be redundant and laborious with that same material. The focus of this article is to share information on Remington DuPont’s cutlery production years during the Great Depression era and the financial marketing strategies they implemented in providing advertising, specialty and souvenir knives not only to the general public but to the small business owner and the larger national corporations.