6233 SS - What is this handle material called?

The W.R. Case & Sons Cutlery Company has a very rich history that began in 1889 when William Russell (“W.R.”), Jean, John, and Andrew Case began fashioning their knives and selling them along a wagon trail in upstate New York. The company has produced countless treasures and it continues to do so as one of the most collected brands in the world.
TwoFlowersLuggage
Location: Stuck in traffic on a highway in Southern California

6233 SS - What is this handle material called?

Post by TwoFlowersLuggage »

I'm a noob to Case collecting. I have acquired the little 6233 SS pen knife shown below. Can anyone help me identify what this handle material is called? Is it bone or synthetic, and if it is bone, what is this color called? Thanks!

http://tinypic.com/m/jrzcds/3
20171201_091815.jpg
"The Luggage had a straightforward way of dealing with things between it and its intended destination: it ignored them." -Terry Pratchett
Railsplitter
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: 6233 SS - What is this handle material called?

Post by Railsplitter »

Looks like Brown Jigged Delrin. The "as ground" finish on the blades would also support that theory.
Rick T.

"My knife money maketh itself wings!" mb>

Proud member of the Buck Collectors Club Inc.
TwoFlowersLuggage

What had me confused is that I wasn't aware there were synthetic handles that have the two-tone staining. All the pictures of brown Delrin knives I have been able to find have been plain brown - do they come both two-tone and mono-color in Delrin?
"The Luggage had a straightforward way of dealing with things between it and its intended destination: it ignored them." -Terry Pratchett
Railsplitter
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by Railsplitter »