Why do some copperlocks have blade off center

The W.R. Case & Sons Cutlery Company has a very rich history that began in 1889 when William Russell (“W.R.”), Jean, John, and Andrew Case began fashioning their knives and selling them along a wagon trail in upstate New York. The company has produced countless treasures and it continues to do so as one of the most collected brands in the world.
sedona

Why do some copperlocks have blade off center

Post by sedona »

I have been collecting copperlocks for several years.I have noticed on the newer knives when the blade is closed it is pretty far off to the right or off to the left.After looking at my older copperlocks most of the blades are pretty much in the center.Is this just a lack of quality control on the newer knives? I appreciate all opinions.
XX Case XX

Re: Why do some copperlocks have blade off center

Post by XX Case XX »

This isn't restricted to just Copperlocks. Many Case knives over the years are like that.

Here's what you need to understand: Anytime you have an item that is mass produced, you're going to have differences in the final product. There will be some that are near perfect, and some that are not. As long as it is between the "plus/minus" limit, it's deemed acceptable. If it's over or under, it will most likely be rejected.

I have several original Dot-Era Case that are like that and some that are not. It also depends on the person who made it on that day. Maybe on that day he felt good and therefore did a good job. On another day, he was worried about his dog and therefore was not concentrating on his work so it barely passed final inspection. The blade wasn't perfectly straight but it was good enough to pass and in perfect working order.