Advice please

The W.R. Case & Sons Cutlery Company has a very rich history that began in 1889 when William Russell (“W.R.”), Jean, John, and Andrew Case began fashioning their knives and selling them along a wagon trail in upstate New York. The company has produced countless treasures and it continues to do so as one of the most collected brands in the world.
Rivers

Advice please

Post by Rivers »

I was rummaging threw and old bag and found an old case knife. Threw a bit of research I have found it to be a 4" toothpick, I have very little knowledge on this subject. But I cannot figure out its age, there is no number on the blade. Any help on this would be great, as well as advice in how or if I should clean it.
IMG_0143.JPG
IMG_0144.JPG
IMG_0148.JPG
313 Mike

Re: Advice please

Post by 313 Mike »

Wow, beautiful old Case! Great find in really nice condition ::tu::
One of the experts should be along shortly to give you all the detailed info you are looking for ::tu::
Mike

There are those who are...and those who wish they were. He himself decides.
montemojo

Post by montemojo »

Welcome to AAPK Rivers, great looking knife.

Monte
QTCut5
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by QTCut5 »

Great find. According to the chart for dating Case pocket knives found under the "Research" button at the top of the page, your Toothpick appears to have a tang stamp from

1920-1940 (some say 1919 – 1945)

Case XX tang stamps used 1920 - 1940

You will find that most books date this stamp as being used from 1920 to 1940. I have found that many serious knife collectors disagree with this date range and say that it was actually used from 1919 to 1945. It has been my experience that collectors call knives with these stamps “Tested” or “Circle C” era knives.

https://www.allaboutpocketknives.com/co ... ification/

Whether it's legit or not will have to be determined by one of the AAPK Case experts; it looks legit to me, but I'm no expert.

Cool knife.

~Q~