703 ID / value

Hoyt Buck produced the first Buck Knife in 1902. Hoyt and his son Al moved to San Diego and set up shop as H.H. Buck & Son in 1947. Al Buck revolutionized the knife industry in 1964 with the infamous Model 110 Folding Hunter. The company's innovative history and attention to quality have made for many great collectible knives.
Buck703

703 ID / value

Post by Buck703 »

I can find this particular, with fancy script on the handle, block on the blade.. many other variations but not this one. Grandpa gave it to me around 1992.
A852FB77-E684-49E1-BB1D-85632E143B49.jpeg
bertl

Re: 703 ID / value

Post by bertl »

I think that is the first version of the 703, produced from 1980 to 1984.

Bert
dsutton24

Post by dsutton24 »

They're nice knives. Grandpa must have liked you.

I'm no expert, so some of this may be a little wobbly: There are three basic generations of that knife. They were introduced in 1980 with two backsprings and polished bolsters, these ran to the end of 1984. Starting the beginning of 1985 the bolsters had a matte finish. The third generation of these knives started late in 1986. They had three backsprings, and these ran until 2001. Of course, if it was made after 1985 it would have a date code.

I don't know the dates of the script shield, other than to say they are fairly common on those knives. They don't signify anything special as far as I know, they may have been used exclusively on the 700 series knives, and may date your knife to no later than '86. The only 703 that I have that has the script BUCK shield also has a script tang stamp, and I think it dates from early in the run. The block letter BUCK shield was also used on the 300 series knives in the '87 and '88 date range, but I've never seen a script shield on a 300 series knife.

Unless it has a date code, Buck knives can be very hard to date with certainty. Even with a date code odd things turn up. It seems like cutlers never throw anything away.