Total Novice

A place for whittlers and wood carvers. Everything from Beginner to expert topics welcome. Stop by and show off your work or check out the wonderful creations made by fellow members.
PaulM

Total Novice

Post by PaulM »

Hi All,

I am very interested in beginning wood whittling and am looking as much advice as possible when It comes to buying a knife set,

I have my eye on a beavercraft set that is reasonable and I think will cover all bases apart from spoon carving I have included a picture of the set, again as a complete beginner any advice would be gladly accepted.

If you could also give me any info on the best way to start and what projects I could get stuck into and what types of wood, I am from Ireland so I know we may not have some types of wood you would get in other parts of the world and vice versa

Thank you all in advance

PaulM
Attachments
Screenshot_20211201-231240_Samsung Internet.jpg
marinaio61

Re: Total Novice

Post by marinaio61 »

The set you show will get you started in basic whittling, wood carving, but not spoon carving. Beavercraft tools are decent starter tools at a reasonable price, I have a couple that I use regularly. There are other Beavercraft sets that cover a broader range of carving tasks, you might look them all over on the Beavercraft website before choosing.

All you really need is a roughing knife, around 2 1/2", I prefer a straight blade but many prefer a curved edge, a detail knife with a good pointed blade at around 1 1/4" or 1 1/2" and if you plan to carve spoons either a hook knife/spoon knife and/or a bent spoon gouge around an inch or so wide.

You might also check out OCCTOOLS for good quality carving tools, their steel is superior to Beavercraft.
OLDE CUTLER
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by OLDE CUTLER »