first time dabbler, help me value these?

A place to ask or answer knife related questions.
oldcrick

first time dabbler, help me value these?

Post by oldcrick »

lot of 17
lot of 17
mother of pearl
mother of pearl
remington umc
remington umc
hello! i went bonkers at an estate sale today. this is my first time attempting to start a vintage collection.

a few remington, several schrade, 1 boker, 1 craftsman, 1 LF&C, 1 camillus, 1 westaco, and a few that i can't seem to identify.

the total i paid for this lot was $187 plus tax (each was 50% off tag pictured).

a few questions for you fellas:

1) did i do okay, or is this my amateur hour?
2) all of these are clearly in used condition. if i wanted to resell anything, is it a good idea to clean and restore them first?
3) do you want to see anything in more detail? (i'm not sure what the aapk forum picture quality is limited to, i didn't want to sling 17 individual pictures right off, and i need to get better lighting, but i'm happy to do that work if anyone is interested.)

thanks for your help!
doglegg
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: first time dabbler, help me value these?

Post by doglegg »

Welcome oldcrick, usually value is very closely related to condition. Also feel free to post lots of pic's. We love pic's.
Sharpnshinyknives
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by Sharpnshinyknives »

Welcome Oldcrick, More pictures will help. There is a limit of how many pictures will load with each post, can’t remember if it’s 8 or 10, so don’t be afraid to have several posts with pictures. I can answer one question and that is yes clean them properly, shiny sells plus it’s just a good idea to have all the gunk off the knives for storage. If you have Ren Wax, use that after you clean them to protect the blades, bolsters, backsprings and handles.
Not sure on the value, I don’t sell many used old knives in my store. Seems a little high to me, but I don’t know. Selling old used knives is not a very high profit venture.