IS THIS SPECIAL???

A place to ask or answer knife related questions.
Redcrossman

IS THIS SPECIAL???

Post by Redcrossman »

Can anyone ID this monstrosity?
So far 70 some people have looked at this, with no reply. I'm new at this, so someone tell me if that means it's junk or I didn't do something right or ya'll are stumped.

I've added 2 more pics. The knife came in this leather pouch. The other is a better shot of the tang stamp and shows HAHN stamped on the blade.
Attachments
2018-02-20 18.04.04.jpg
2018-02-20 18.04.30.jpg
2018-02-14 15.25.07.jpg
2018-02-14 15.25.42.jpg
2018-02-21 09.13.33.jpg
2018-02-21 09.15.49.jpg
danno50
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: IS THIS SPECIAL???

Post by danno50 »

It is very interesting, I like it. I know nothing about it, except that it has horn handles and looks European to me? Is the tang stamp a representation of a mushroom? There are a few AAPK members from different areas of Europe, maybe none of them have seen it yet?
Dan
Dan
Redcrossman

Post by Redcrossman »

Thanks Dan....added a couple more pics.
danno50
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by danno50 »

Below is a link to some French cutlery marks. I can't find yours here, however, the site no longer works very well for me? I can see the page that comes up, but when I click on any of the other links it Safari cannot find the server? Maybe it might work better for you?

https://oldbritva.ru/wp-content/uploads ... THIERS.htm

Here is a link to some German makers marks, however, I can't find yours here either.

http://www.germandaggers.com/Gallery/Makers.php

HAHN does not show up in either Goins or Levines and I suspect that is just the end of the name.

Dan
Dan
Redcrossman

Post by Redcrossman »

Dan, both those links came up very clear, no luck. I'm thinking the HAHN thing is probably the original owners/soldiers name.
knife7knut

Post by knife7knut »