Old Holley Pocket Knife

A place to ask or answer knife related questions.
JamesShields

Old Holley Pocket Knife

Post by JamesShields »

I have came across an old pocket knife. The blade says Holley mfg co lakeville. Very small knife, probably 3” in length. It’s not in the greatest condition. Just curious if anyone knows anything about it.
Attachments
image.jpg
LongBlade

Re: Old Holley Pocket Knife

Post by LongBlade »

Welcome JamesShields to the forum ::welcome:: ... The knife is a classic pen knife in a shadow pattern (meaning no bolsters or more simply metal capped ends in case you are not familiar with knife lingo) and appears to have a smooth bone handle. Holley Mfg Co existed from 1844 to 1930 in Lakeville CT and would be considered a desirable maker of old knives. Hope this helps...

Re: Old Holley pocket knife

Post by kootenay joe »

James, welcome to AAPK
I am not an expert in any area of knives & certainly not Holley. Bernard Levine has said that the majority of "Holley" branded knives you will see are fakes. Yours i am sure is an all original Holley. The handles might be ivory which Holley did use on some of their pen knives.
I'm sure someone who knows Holley knives will be along to give more specific info.
kj
kootenay joe

Post by kootenay joe »

You have started a second thread on this knife in the Q&A forum.
Perhaps a moderator will consolidate them ?
kj
JamesShields

Post by JamesShields »

Thank you, yes it does help. My grandfather gave it to me a few days ago. He said he didn’t know anything about it and wasn’t ever going to do anything with it. I was mainly wanting to know more about it because I was planning on getting it worked on if it was the right call. I didn’t know if it was worth anything or rather worth anything in this condition or just be better to get it refurbished and maybe gift it back to him.
JamesShields

Post by JamesShields »