Old Camillus Cub Scout Knife

This forum is for those who like to repair and restore knives, and for those who would like to learn.
MStorms2672

Old Camillus Cub Scout Knife

Post by MStorms2672 »

Hello AAPK Members,
I'm new to pocket knife repair and I have limited knowledge of pocket knives overall.

That being said, I am a cub scout leader and we are about to get into the knife learning part. I picked up two vintage Camillus knives to gift to my and his friend when the time comes. Both need cleaning but one needs repair. The scales are popping and the shackle came loose on one side. It looks like a previous repair was attempted on the shackle.

I'll do the work but I really don't know what I'm doing. Any help is appreciated!

Thabks,
Mike
Attachments
IMG_20190109_201037727.jpg
IMG_20190109_201137455.jpg
IMG_20190109_201047206.jpg
orvet
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Old Camillus Cub Scout Knife

Post by orvet »

Hi Mike,
Welcome to AAPK. ::welcome::

Without experience in the tools required it would be a little difficult to facilitate that repair.
If you can post a side view of the knife with the blades open, so I can better see if I have one like it. If I do have one that is functional or one that I can repair, I’ll fix it up and send it to you. I won’t send you a broken or unsafe knife.

Have you learned the PM (private message) function here on AAPK yet? Probably on the upper right-hand side above for your viewing this topic you will see an envelope icon that says private messages beside it. After you post some more pictures I will see if I have one like it or perhaps a different Cub Scout knife, if a different model is acceptable, and I will contact you through the PM system to get your address to send you the knife.

Welcome to AAPK ::tu::
Dale
PS – In case you’re wondering, there’s no charge.
Dale
AAPK Administrator

Please visit my AAPK store: www.allaboutpocketknives.com/orvet

Job 13:15

"Buy more ammo!" - Johnnie Fain