Advice needed

This forum is for those who like to repair and restore knives, and for those who would like to learn.
Berryb

Advice needed

Post by Berryb »

Hi; I'm gonna be laid up for a while in the near future, and I'm trying to get some projects lined up so I don't have to watch "Days of Our Lives". One thing I was going to try is re-handling some old carbon steel kitchen knives. I read somewhere that I could just epoxy the scales on, but I think they look better with rivets or screws in them. I'm looking for suggestions; what to use and where to get them. Keep in mind I'm a rank beginner so easy is a definite consideration but not required. Thanks for your time.
Bruce
Attachments
DSC_0001.JPG
orvet
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Advice needed

Post by orvet »

Bruce it sounds like you’re going to make good use of your time. If you going to be laid up you might as well get some new knives out of the deal!

Cutler’s rivets would be my choice for this project. ::nod:: They are really easy to order from Jantz Supply, or any other knife makers supply house.

For an epoxy I use Bob Smith Industries Five Minute epoxy almost exclusively. I am told by a reliable source that the five minutes is more flexible than the 15 minutes or 30 minute epoxies. You can buy it on eBay, some knife supply houses carry it and I have recently found it readily available at the new Hobby Lobby store in town.

Enjoy your projects and hopefully you have a speedy recovery! ::tu::
Dale
AAPK Administrator

Please visit my AAPK store: www.allaboutpocketknives.com/orvet

Job 13:15

"Buy more ammo!" - Johnnie Fain
“Evil is Powerless If The Good are Unafraid.” – Ronald Reagan
Gunsil

Post by Gunsil »