Fighting Rooster gassed out

This forum is for those who like to repair and restore knives, and for those who would like to learn.
Landersknives

Fighting Rooster gassed out

Post by Landersknives »

Well fellas ... no offense to any ladies on the forum. I have had some knives that gassed out....sooo I decided to try my hand at re handling a fighting rooster. This is my first try and I did not take step by step photos and I thought I took some before pictures but I can't find them. I do have pictures of the handles I took off and some of the other knives I will be doing. Please be brutally honest. I have a great deal of respect for the knife mechanics on this forum. Thanks for all input. This knife was rusty. Here goes:
Attachments
IMG_0454.JPG
IMG_0456.JPG
IMG_0457.JPG
IMG_0469.JPG
IMG_0470.JPG
IMG_0471.JPG
IMG_0472.JPG
Ed
“No brag just fact”
Walter Brennan
glennbad
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Fighting Rooster gassed out

Post by glennbad »

From what I can see from the pics, looks pretty darn nice. A shield would look nice, but perhaps you didn't want one.

Really not anything to critique, though I like to see more jigging toward the bolsters, but that's just my personal preference.

Excellent save!
Landersknives

Post by Landersknives »

Thank you glennbad coming from you that is a compliment. The shield hmmm well I was intimidated and once I got started today I wanted to get finished. Are installing shields pretty difficult sir? Maybe on the next one I do I might try installing a shield. What do you use to pin the shield on? Is there a certain epoxy to use for shields?
Ed
“No brag just fact”
Walter Brennan
orvet
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by orvet »

It looks really good to me! ::tu::