Case Russlock knives

There were 37 knife patterns manufactured in the early to mid 1990s that make up the Case Classic line of knives. They are the product of Jim Parker's realization of a dream to replicate classic knives of many years past.
Sut Tatersaul

Case Russlock knives

Postby Sut Tatersaul » Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:53 pm

I just bought my first Case xx Russlock Knife, in amber bone stag. I am new to this type, and style of knife, and would like to find out all that i can about them. At 86 I have lost my ability to use this forum correctly. could anyone help me get the history of these knifes, and the proper use of them?
Thanks.
Sut Tatersaul
It's Mind Over Matter, If You Don't Mind, It Don't Matter

tallguy606

Re: Case Russlock knives

Postby tallguy606 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:46 am

I have looked at Russlocks, but can't warm up to the projection sticking out of the tang. Seems like it would quickly wear a hole in your pocket. And I am not a "flipper" guy anyway. I like the Case mid-folding hunter, same size knife, almost same blade, but without the funny prong sticking out.

treefarmer
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Postby treefarmer » Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:26 am

I'll say a hearty "Amen" to tallguy606's comments on the Russlock knives.
Treefarmer

A GUN IN THE HAND IS BETTER THAN A COP ON THE PHONE.

QTCut5
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Postby QTCut5 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:37 am

Ah, the famous (or infamous) Case RussLock...truly a "Love it or Hate it" pattern if ever there was one. Most of the response to/animosity towards the RussLock focuses on its distinctive, curved extended tang which definitely sets it apart and makes it unique.