New Hobby - Amateur Radio = Ham Radio

If you can think of something to talk about that is not related to knives, discuss it here.
CheckSix

New Hobby - Amateur Radio = Ham Radio

Post by CheckSix »

Been busy the last month getting on the air. Took my FCC Amateur Radio license tests, Technician, General(Sept 23rd) & Extra(last Sunday) and passed them all. I studied for a week before the 1st two tests, then about 5 days of review before the Extra exam. The tests are not too difficult, if you have some electronics and science background.

I set up a radio shack in a spare bedroom and put up antennas. Now I talk to people from all over the States and the world. Pretty fascinating hobby. What is really interesting is how signal propagation works on the different bands and how the Sun and the atmosphere interact with the wave propagation at any given time and day.

Beware! If you get interested, it is a DEEP rabbit hole. :lol:

Anyone else here a Ham? If so, we should arrange a QSO.

Dave - KD9JKG
Dave - the new guy. :lol:
NRA Life/Endowment
bestgear
Silver Tier
Silver Tier

Re: New Hobby - Amateur Radio = Ham Radio

Post by bestgear »

Tom - KB1DVD
Tom
AAPK Administrator

Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God.
jerryd6818
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by jerryd6818 »

I got hooked on CB Radio back about 1970 (the poor foster child of Amateur Radio). It's very addicting and I made some very good friends.

That was back when legally you were required to have a license... KEK-5453 and were limited to (I think) 5 watts.

We'll never see you again. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Forged on the anvil of discipline.
The Few. The Proud.
Jerry D.

This country has become more about sub-groups than about it's unity as a nation.

"The #72 pattern has got to be pretty close to the perfect knife."
--T.J. Murphy 2012
ScoutKnives

Post by ScoutKnives »

KF4VYS here my wife KF4VYN ,