Scales

A place to discuss & share pictures of anything that relates to knives.
rcwar56

Scales

Post by rcwar56 »

I’ve got to humble myself and ask for help with a question even a knife novice probably knows the answer to. I’ve got about 35 years of experience with pocket knives but don’t recall ever getting the correct terminology for these celluloid scales. I’ve seen them referenced as waterfall but I don’t think that’s accurate. They are on a nice old Electric Cutlery Co. swell end jack. I had an identical NYKC to this one I wish now I had kept. Hopefully someone out there can help me out and give me the proper name for these beautiful celluloid scales. Thanks in advance.....
Attachments
7F442248-7237-4D39-B4CD-905DD623B8A5.jpeg
2601EB68-5700-4AFF-8A17-DBA72AC6D8C5.jpeg
doglegg
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Scales

Post by doglegg »

Don't know for sure but is that color referred to as 'butter and molasses'? May someone will come along with more knowledge. ::shrug:: ::tu:: ::tu::
rcwar56

Post by rcwar56 »

Yeah that may be the colors but I asking about the pattern type. Butter and molasses scales were most common on old Camillus knives. Here is a photo of a Common butter and molasses
Attachments
00012C50-5D36-459C-AE11-D79E55DC0FA4.jpeg
whitebuffalo58

Post by whitebuffalo58 »

Although a name typically used for Remington knives, I've always called that type Pyremite. As in 'gold and brown swirl Pyremite'. ::shrug::

WB
rcwar56

Post by rcwar56 »

Pyremite is about as close a name I could think of. I think Remington normally used that term on the green pyremite. But green and brown swirl Pyremite sounds good to me.
whitebuffalo58

Post by whitebuffalo58 »

I'm pretty sure Remington had lots of different colored Pyremite's, although personally I've only seen a handful.

Great old Electric Cut. Co., BTW! ::tu::

WB
Dinadan
Silver Tier
Silver Tier

Post by Dinadan »