Help with eval of St Louis show

A place to discuss & share pictures of anything that relates to knives.
bocaj

Help with eval of St Louis show

Post by bocaj »

I am thinking of driving 5 or so hours to the St Louis show end of the month.... Can someone share their opinion on what size show and the general friendliness and variety that the show offers. I am pretty new to the collection side and will have lots of questions if I attend. Thanks !!
Railsplitter
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Help with eval of St Louis show

Post by Railsplitter »

I've attended the last three years but I'm not going this year. It's a pretty good show. Maybe about 100 tables. Lots of traditional style knives, some tactical stuff, fixed blades, quite a few custom makers usually attend and have tables set up. Grand Prairie Knives is close by and they usually have a table set up at the show.

Queen Cutlery has been there the last two years but I wouldn't expect to see them there this year. I would say the show has a good variety for any type of knife lover. There is usually a guy with a flashlight table set up as well. Mostly Nitecore.

It's a good show and I always get excited when I go. I think you'll enjoy it but 5 hours one way is quite a haul. Hope you can make it.
Rick T.

"My knife money maketh itself wings!" mb>

Proud member of the Buck Collectors Club Inc.
Tony_Wood

Post by Tony_Wood »

I drive 3.5 hours to attend, and have been at the last three shows as well.
Railsplitters synopsis is good. If you come with cash to spend, you can leave with what you came looking for.
The tables are split 40/60 between builders/production. There are some quality builders that are there each year with everything from fixed blades...the majority, to modern style folders, and fewer traditional folder builders. There a few tables of knife building supplies.