Buck Creek Knives?

A place to discuss & share pictures of anything that relates to knives.
Old Hunter

Buck Creek Knives?

Post by Old Hunter »

I've been accumulating knives for over 40 years (without guidance) and began avidly collecting several years ago by lurking and then by joining AAPK and a few other forums to learn about knives in addition to simply buying them. One brand that comes up whenever I search the internet for USA Buck Knives is the Buck Creek brand; I know nothing about them, other than they are listed on ebay auctions as being German made. I never see any threads here about Buck Creek collectors here - who is Buck Creek and are they a decent knife? Who makes them and who imports them? Are they users or collectibles? Thanks, OH
Deep in the guts of most men is buried the involuntary response to the hunter's horn, a prickle of the nape hairs, an acceleration of the pulse, an atavistic memory of his fathers, who killed first with stone, and then with club...Robert Ruark
jerryd6818
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Buck Creek Knives?

Post by jerryd6818 »

The best information I have is they are owned by Frost. As far as where they are made, opinions vary widely. They are stamped with Germany and advertised as made in Germany but there is much speculation as to where the parts come from. All that and given the price, it gives one pause.
Attachments
Buck Creek Whittler German Origin.JPG
Forged on the anvil of discipline.
The Few. The Proud.
Jerry D.

This country has become more about sub-groups than about it's unity as a nation.

"The #72 pattern has got to be pretty close to the perfect knife."
--T.J. Murphy 2012
basser5

Post by basser5 »

They were originally made by Kaufmann, Solingen Germany.

The older ones... 1970s to mid 80s were very well made IMO.

I can only speculate on the new ones.

Tim
My name is Tim and i'm a stagoholic.
knifetime

Post by knifetime »