Asian knockoff?

A place to discuss & share pictures of counterfeit knives. Please be sure to alert the AAPK community if you spot one. Also make sure to ask questions if you are not certain about the authenticity of a knife you are considering buying or selling. There are plenty of great people here willing to help.
tongueriver

Asian knockoff?

Post by tongueriver »

I wouldn't allow this knife on my property. It sure ain't a Schrade or a D'Holder. Or am I wrong?
s-l1600 (1).jpg
s-l1600 (12).jpg
s-l1600.jpg
ea42

Re: Asian knockoff?

Post by ea42 »

Cal you might want to re-think that because I honestly think that might be the real deal, and an early one at that. I think he tang stamped his early knives. Looks like his classic palm swell handle shape and I'm willing to bet it has a tapered tang. Although I'm fairly familiar with his work I'm not an expert by a long shot so don't take that as gospel. He's still kickin' down there in AZ., maybe you can reach out to him to verify it if you have it on your radar.

Eric
tongueriver

Post by tongueriver »

Sorry; I forgot to put in the URL. I had a feeling the D'Holder was real. A stealth collector grabbed it early with a message to the seller. I think it is an ugly knife. Those gutter gimmick blades have always turned me off. D'Holder started a trend copied by hundreds of makers; I have several examples but none by the MAN. He shared some ideas with the Schrade custom guys and that's what my "D'Holders" are, both the official collaboration and then their Ph-1 and Ph-2 variations.
ea42

Post by ea42 »