Does this look like a real "Keen Kutter"

A place to discuss & share pictures of counterfeit knives. Please be sure to alert the AAPK community if you spot one. Also make sure to ask questions if you are not certain about the authenticity of a knife you are considering buying or selling. There are plenty of great people here willing to help.
CampbellAr2

Does this look like a real "Keen Kutter"

Post by CampbellAr2 »

Appreciate any feedback! Bear with me....I'm new to this and mainly focus on Remington in my collecting.

Bought this at a Pawn shop last week for $15. In general this is an older knife appearing to be close to a Keen Kutter 766, with the newer tang stamps. Blades appear to be ok but its a bit rough.

What is throwing me off is the poor fit of the celluoid/plastic scales and the narrower bolsters vs other 766 examples out there. Also, the springs do not match with each other. I know little to nothing about Keen Kutters except they were bought and licensed multiple times, and there are multiple fake examples as well. May also have been someone's past attempt at a repair.

Im attaching the tang stamp (#1) and knife pic (#2)
Attachments
KeenKutter_766_Jack1.jpg
KeenKutter_766_Jack2.jpg
1967redrider
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Does this look like a real "Keen Kutter"

Post by 1967redrider »

The plastic will shrink, do you have a picture of the spring issue?

Can't find a picture of a 766 in Sellens' or Sargent's books. ::shrug::
Pocket, fixed, machete, axe, it's all good!

You're going to look awfully silly with that knife sticking out of your @#$. -Clint Eastwood, High Plains Drifter
Sharpnshinyknives
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by Sharpnshinyknives »