Zero Tolerance problem

A place to share, learn, & show off sharpening tips, tricks, techniques, & tools for sharpening edges of all kinds.
Waxpad

Zero Tolerance problem

Post by Waxpad »

Folks, I bought a ZT 450 not long ago, and it really wasn’t that sharp when I bought it. Anyway, I decided that I’d touch up the edge the other day, and am having very limited results. I’ve tried Soft Arkansas, hard Arkansas, carborundum, crock sticks, and even my Lansky sharpener (at 20 degree angle).
Nothing seems to work. Any ideas? Is the steel that blasted hard? Or am I doing something wrong. I’ve been sharpening knives for 50 years, and this one has me stumped.
1967redrider
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Zero Tolerance problem

Post by 1967redrider »

Which blade steel is it? I haven't had to try sharpening my Elmax yet.
Pocket, fixed, machete, axe, it's all good!

You're going to look awfully silly with that knife sticking out of your @#$. -Clint Eastwood, High Plains Drifter
Dinadan
Silver Tier
Silver Tier

Post by Dinadan »

It sounds as if the knife may not have a good bevel on the edge. When I get a knife that is dull, one that I have never sharpened, I start with a very coarse stone. Much more coarse than a soft Arkansas. One of those big old combination stones from the hardware store like the one at the top in this photo.
Stones
Stones
After I have got a decent bevel on the blade I usually switch to a soft Arkansas like the one at the bottom.
Mel
Mumbleypeg
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by Mumbleypeg »

Per my limited research it says the ZT 450 has S35VN steel. I don’t have a knife with that steel. Those I do have that have high wear resistant steel respond best to a Diamond stone. That works best for me on 154CM and 440C. Depending on the existing edge it sounds as though starting with a course stone and working up to fine might be what’s needed.