Old folding knife

A place to ask or answer knife related questions.
jimhofius

Old folding knife

Post by jimhofius »

Anyone know anything about this knife? I got it from my great grandfather
from Allentown PA ?
Attachments
Old knife
Old knife
Old knife
Old knife
Old knife
Old knife
edge213
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Old folding knife

Post by edge213 »

I know nothing about it, but it is a cool old knife.
David
"Glowing like the metal on the edge of a knife" Meat Loaf
LongBlade

Post by LongBlade »

Cool knife!! Definitely I'm not an expert in these knives but recently saw a few at a show or shop - so think they are called Navajas and were mostly Spanish and maybe some French in design... I seem to remember some originating in South America ... Some were pretty ornate in the handle design with Horn, Bone and bronze - similar same shape handle as your knife though many Navajas were more horn like in shape ... and no doubt a big folding blade was similar .. That's my best guess but hopefully someone will come along with better info...

Post by knife7knut »

It's called a Corsican vendetta knife;usually made in France. BRL says they vary in length from about 5" to 10" closed;bone handles etched with various designs.Sometimes they have etched blades with various sayings.Made in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Adventure BEFORE Dementia!
deo-pa
Bronze Tier
Bronze Tier

Post by deo-pa »

I have several of these and I find them an interesting knife to collect because of the broad range of sizes, inscriptions, etc. Here is some information I copied from another forum.

Dennis