Case Knife Collection

A place to discuss & share pictures of anything that relates to knives.
AgentOrangeHorn

Case Knife Collection

Post by AgentOrangeHorn »

Hello all, I've been collecting case knives for a few years now. I cam across this website and thought i would join. Some of best memories include me with my Grandfather and Father with blade in hand,skinning a deer. I've come across a deal I need some advise on though.....

i am in the position to buy 641 case knives from the 50-80's, all new,never used. i need a couple of opinions on them pls. This will help in my negotiations of the 641 knives in velvet knife rolls.
There are many different type/blades., all folders. he was a middle class gentleman that collected over his years.
1) sHOULD I MAke offer on the entire lot, not by knife right?
2) what should i USE AS AN AVERAGE PRICE OR HOW WOULD YO GO ABOUT BIDDING IT. All are folders, not used with maybe 50 higher end??
3) how much of the knives value should i take off since no boxes?
4) what would you estimate 641 folding knives from the 50-80's would
sell for retail if i was to sell on EBAY,etc.
I am trying to buy them and only sell what i absolutely would have to as they will go to my 2 sons. Im not un the position to keep all 641 knives but feel i might could sell 100 and get way with that(if wife doesnt find out)
AND without looking, what range would you pay for 640 case folding knives, mainly the mainstream knives/

I am going to make this deal on Saturday....any info would be greatly appreciated....Kevin

Look forward to spending time on this site.............
tjmurphy

Re: Case Knife Collection

Post by tjmurphy »

Certainly NOT a CASE guy but I've looked at a lot of them on ebay. Since you say they range from common (average) to higher end, I would think that somewhere around a $30 +/- average would be an acceptable offer. I don't think that this would be a low-ball offer on the 640 knives, nor would I considerate more than they're worth. JMO.