Waterville Manufacturing / Waterville Cutlery Info

This forum is dedicated to the discussion and display of old knives. The rich history of all the many companies that made them through the early years will be found here as well as many fine examples of the cutlers art. Share pictures of your old knives and your knowledge here!
dhillbilly

Waterville Manufacturing / Waterville Cutlery Info

Post by dhillbilly »

I am not a knife expert. I bought a couple Waterville knives and was curious. Between the Goin's book and internet searching this is what I came up with on Waterville. I'm sorry my references aren't better. It wasn't originally for public consumption, but I found more than I expected so I figured I'd share. Please add to or correct anything you see.
Thanks
----------------------------------------

Waterville Manufacturing / Waterville Company / Waterville Cutlery

1843 Waterville? - Founded (*1)(*8)(*10)(*12)
1847 Waterville? - Bankrupt (*1)
1847 Waterville Manufacturing Company - New incorporation Aug 17; Green Kendrick president; capital $50,000; Taken over by Ives, Kendrick & Company (a button maker) (*1)(*21)
1848 Waterville Manufacturing not listed for award of medal; In fact no award was given for pocket cutlery but Holley & Merwin, Salisbury, Conn., did win for best small cutlery. Gold Medal
18?? Waterville Manufacturing Company - Made metal buttons marked "Waterville Mfg Co" (*7)(*9)
1849 Waterville Manufacturing Company - "F.G Wheeler, 85 William street, New York, agent for the Waterville Manufacturing Company, Waterbury, Conn." (*15)
1849 Waterville Manufacturing Company - "Waterville Manuf. Co. Waterbury; G.Kendrick, President; Gilt & Plated Buttons & Pocket Cutlery" (*15)
1849 Waterville Manufacturing Company - "Waterville Manufacturing Company, Waterbury, Conn., for the best pen and pocket cutlery. Gold medal." (*11)