My Grandfather's Scout Knife

The Remington Corporation and the knives that they built have influenced the U.S. cutlery industry more than nearly any other manufacturer. From the time America was settled, to the end of WWI, American knife companies struggled to compete with Britain and German imports, but events that occurred during and after the First World War led to a great change in this phenomenon. Unprecedented opportunities arose, and Remington stepped up to seize the moment. In the process, they created some of today's most prized collectables. In an ironic twist, the next World War played the greatest role in ending the company’s domination of the industry.
ScoutLeaderGreg

My Grandfather's Scout Knife

Post by ScoutLeaderGreg »

Hey guys. I'm new to AAPK and new to the formal world of knife collecting. I have an eclectic collection which I'll get to posting soon to research and learn more about what I've got. This first knife has been in the family awhile.

I inherited this knife from my grandfather which I found in his tackle box. So cool to have something of his that's probably quite old. How rare I have no idea. I have a boy who is 9 who's now in his 4th year of Cub Scouts. This will be his someday, but no time soon.

I've done some research to it's age and particulars but haven't really found anything concrete. Maybe some of you experts can make some observations and share your knowledge.

The knife shows some wear as shown but the handle is not cracked anywhere, the blades are in good shape and snap well and move freely. It's a bit dirty but I'll leave it that way.

The logo stamped into the base of the main blade says "Remington UMC" and the other side has the model, RS4233. It's 3-3/8" long closed and the main blade is about 2-9/16", so about 5-7/8" total. The scout logo and wording on the blade are etched in. The pictures tell the story.

Any comments are greatly appreciated.