What color is my XX6254

The W.R. Case & Sons Cutlery Company has a very rich history that began in 1889 when William Russell (“W.R.”), Jean, John, and Andrew Case began fashioning their knives and selling them along a wagon trail in upstate New York. The company has produced countless treasures and it continues to do so as one of the most collected brands in the world.
stockman
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

What color is my XX6254

Post by stockman »

I would love for it to be Red Bone, but I think not. What is your opinion?

Harold
Attachments
img567.jpg
img568.jpg
313 Mike

Re: What color is my XX6254

Post by 313 Mike »

It certainly looks red to me! I am no expert, but I don't think Case was officially labeling bone colors during that period...and there were lots of variations and shades and depths of colors that were just called "bone"....so if it looks red, and to my eyes yours does, then red it is.
Just my opinion...
Mike

There are those who are...and those who wish they were. He himself decides.
XxTestedxX

Post by XxTestedxX »

Never ending question, the values double for the color red. If you have to ask I always figure meet in the middles

If you're selling its red, if you're buying it's bone lol

to me there is red bone, just about everything has red tint, almost safe to say brown bone is more scarce :)

But then there is TRUE red. You will know it when you see it. It's solid in color consistency and it's blood red. No white, no yellow, no orange.

Just my opinion, fine knife you got there
zp4ja

Post by zp4ja »

Highly subject one's personal interpretation of course. That said I've seen strawberry red, blood red,etc. Red is red with different shades. I personally don't interpret it outside of the defined color spectrum. And of course both sides need to match handle to handle. I personally rarely see very true Redbone knives but I tend to be a stickler.