knife cleaning/polishing/restoring

A place to discuss & share pictures of anything that relates to knives.
alvisw3

knife cleaning/polishing/restoring

Post by alvisw3 »

Hello!
I'm brand new to AAPK and fairly new to knife collecting. I'd like some references from anyone who knows of a good polishing/cleaning/restoration service for those knives I own that I shouldn't "experiment" on. I've been asking around, but haven't had any luck so far. Any suggestions?
jerryd6818
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: knife cleaning/polishing/restoring

Post by jerryd6818 »

Welcome to AAPK. Glad to have you aboard. Sorry I can't answer your question.
Forged on the anvil of discipline.
The Few. The Proud.
Jerry D.

This country has become more about sub-groups than about it's unity as a nation.

"The #72 pattern has got to be pretty close to the perfect knife."
--T.J. Murphy 2012
outofplace

Post by outofplace »

Welcome!
Try Muskrat Man Knives on this site.
djknife13
Silver Tier
Silver Tier

Post by djknife13 »

Sounds like you have been already alerted to not cleaning all the value out of old knives. I've been collecting for about 20 years and in the beginning I turned some $5 knives into $2 knives. Thank goodness I didn't screw up any $1000 ones. I have seen too many tables full of shiney old "buffed" clean knives that used to be really nice examples of old craftsmanship. I clean the rust and dirt off with a good metal polish and try not to over-do that. Some of the metal polish's have some oil and waxes in them that give old stag a little relief from being too dry. I like Wenol that I purchase on line. I've seen others at gun shows and they seem to do the same thing. I believe one was called Metal-glow or something like that. Sorry I can't help you with a name for actual repairs but they're are a few around that do a good job.
TripleF
Bronze Tier
Bronze Tier

Post by TripleF »

Flitz Metal Polish, Flitz cloth and some elbow grease......
SCOTT
HOME OF THE BRAVE! (not the scarety cats)