Will & Finck Bowie

A place to discuss & share pictures of counterfeit knives. Please be sure to alert the AAPK community if you spot one. Also make sure to ask questions if you are not certain about the authenticity of a knife you are considering buying or selling. There are plenty of great people here willing to help.
kootenay joe

Will & Finck Bowie

Post by kootenay joe »

http://www.ebay.com/itm/RARE-AND-UNIQUE ... 2429454407

Will & Finck knives show up on ebay regularly. So far every one i have seen discussed has proved to be fake. I think this one might be authentic however i have no experience with Will & Finck or knives of that era.
Authentic or fake, this knife should give us opportunity for interesting discussion.
kj
Attachments
s-l1600W&F.jpg
s-l1600W&F2.jpg
s-l1600W&F3.jpg
s-l1600W&F4.jpg
s-l1600W&F5.jpg
s-l1600W&F6.jpg
Miller Bro's
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Re: Will & Finck Bowie

Post by Miller Bro's »

Seller's description:
PLEASE DO NOT SEND EMAILS ON THIS KNIFE FOR QUESTIONS!!!

Please give us a call..

Kip 913 940-2012 or Kevin 913 940-5151

RARE AND UNIQUE SILVER MOUNTED KNIFE MADE BY WILL & FINCK IN THE EARLY 1800’S - BOWIE STYLE HUNTING KNIFE IN ITS ORIGINAL PRESENTATION BOX.
Operating out of San Francisco, Will & Finck manufactured a wide variety of knives, and are associated with the California Gold Rush.

This Knife is 12 ½” Overall, it has 8 ¼” point blade that is nearly 1 ½” at its widest point and has a 3 ½” sharpened clip. The spine of the blade is nearly a ¼” thick Steel blade is Maker Marked on the ricasso with circles and "Will & Finck/S.F. Cal". Made with an Oval Silver Cross Guard that appears to be made of Sterling Silver. Handle attached to Sterling Silver. We were told the material on the handle is over 150 years old. The leather scabbard is made for a knife with a Cross Guard and has stamping on the front of what also appears to be Sterling Silver.