Need some help Case Tested era.....

A place to discuss & share pictures of counterfeit knives. Please be sure to alert the AAPK community if you spot one. Also make sure to ask questions if you are not certain about the authenticity of a knife you are considering buying or selling. There are plenty of great people here willing to help.
Landersknives

Need some help Case Tested era.....

Post by Landersknives »

eBay item number: 201699144588
Just checking (cause I am a novice right now) Case Tested era hunter. Does the Tang Stamp look right and is the shield from a later Case knife? I am not anywhere close to an expert so I thought I would ask the collective years of experience here at AAPK. ::tu:: or ::td:: ?
Attachments
Hunter.jpg
Hunter1.jpg
Ed
“No brag just fact”
Walter Brennan
RalphAlsip

Re: Need some help Case Tested era.....

Post by RalphAlsip »

My read is that this knife is a 6165 with 2nd cut bone handles. The tang stamp and shield look good to me. You probably saw the back handle - it is badly damaged. The front handle also has a significant crack. The blade looks to be in good condition given its age. It's a mild concern for me that the pin in the top bolster is as visible as it is, which could mean the knife has been apart and that might explain why the blade condition is better than the handles.

Here is a link to a recently sold Case Tested XX 5165 if you are interested to compare stamping and shield.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/232116260520
knifeaholic
Gold Tier
Gold Tier

Post by knifeaholic »

Knife is fine no red flags on authenticity.
Steve Pfeiffer, author of Collecting Case Knives: Identification and Price Guide published by Krause Publications.
Landersknives

Post by Landersknives »